Sand Dollars

Fill my pockets with sand dollars
instead of real ones;
and tell me again that I’m beautiful
even though we both know you are lying.
Capture the sunlight in your smile
and the moonlight in your kiss,
as we stand on the shore
and watch the surf wash over our bare feet.
Fill my pockets with sand dollars
instead of silver coins;
and let us spend them to buy the soft breezes
that brush by your hand that holds mine.
Tell me again about how rich we are
to have each other,
a beautiful son,
and this special place.
Fill my pockets with sand dollars
instead of real ones;
and we will invest them in
a life together of
love,
laughter,
and each other.
About bohemianopus

I live a gypsy’s life. I dance to the music in my head when no one else is looking. I can hear the stars sing, taste the sky, and see music in living color. I talk to animals. And the homeless. I believe that open fields are for flowers, critters, running, and making love – not war. I love to feel the sand between my toes, the wind in my hair, and the rain on my face. I often contradict myself. No I don’t. I hate to drive and sometimes hit the curb when I park. When I am bored, I fantasize about being a famous Broadway star. I do not know how to merge, speak Lithuanian or cook. I am West Coast in a Jersey sort of way. I can not tell a lie with a straight face. I think there should be an “off” switch for obnoxious, loud or boring people. I keep a sleeping bag in my truck in case I simply don’t want to leave. I once owned a heavyweight belt signed by Mohammad Ali. I am loved. Most importantly, I cherish each day as if it were my last.
This entry was posted in Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sand Dollars

  1. Lorena says:

    I'm assuming I owe you and Ben a happy anniversary. I hope all is well and that you're enjoying retirement. I miss you, but I'm glad I get to vicariously “see” you through your blog.

  2. Patrizia says:

    Thanks, Lorena! I Plan to do more with this blog. It has taken me four months to actually feel like doing something! I miss you, too!!!

  3. Lorena says:

    Yay! So glad I'll be able to read more from you in the near future. And I can totally understand the long time between postings — I imagine you needed some time to decompress. 😉

    To see what I was up to all summer, read this.

Leave a Reply

